icon-facebookicon-twitter copyicon-instagram

Barre CORE and Stretch


This class is taught by:

Mary Jo Liew

Name: Mary Jo Liew

Hometown: Edmonton, AB

Why do you barre so hard?
Having danced growing up I missed the studio vibe and classical movements of ballet when working out. I have always made a point of being active but getting to the gym sometimes felt like a chore. The combination of dance, pilates and yoga inspired moves set to upbeat music is the perfect balance between form, function and fun. The workout is low impact yet effective and I know if I am a little sore the next day I have had a good workout. Exercising isn’t a chore anymore and look forward to the days when I can hit the studio.

Enjoy the little things – what little things make you smile?
My little guy Jack. He is always full of smiles and makes me laugh all the time. Watching him grow is the best thing ever. I also have a dog named Charlie. He is a black Goldendoodle, otherwise known as the happiest furry teddy bear around.

Kirsten Tullis

Name: Kirsten Tullis
 
Hometown: Durban, South Africa

Why do you barre so hard?
I barre so hard for the results. I love the endorphins and the positive attitude I leave the class with. I love what barre has done to my body. I love the fact I need to go out and buy a bigger pair of jeans to fit my butt, and a smaller top to fit my waist.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what would you bring with you?
Sun cream, a great book, rum and coke in a giant cooler.

Emily Fleming

Name: Emily 
 

Hometown: Devon, AB
 
Why do you barre so hard?
 
I barre so hard because no matter how many classes I come to, I can
never predict what the instructor is going to bring, and I can always find
something in my form, or my effort that needs improvement. I also love
barre because of the community. The clients, and the staff are second to 
none, and the studio has definitely become a place of comfort and solace
in my crazy life.
 
 Favorite way to treat yourself?
 
Lush bath bombs with a bottle sized glass of wine
 
A 60min class designed to lengthen the muscles and improve core strength. The entire class will focus on targeting the core and includes 15 minutes of specific core work  done on the mat to strength and improve posture.  

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Oct 19 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Oct 22 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Kirsten Tullis
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Oct 26 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Oct 29 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Nov 02 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Kirsten Tullis
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Nov 05 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Nov 09 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Nov 12 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Nov 16 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Nov 19 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Nov 23 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Nov 26 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Nov 30 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Dec 03 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Dec 07 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Dec 10 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Dec 14 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Dec 17 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Thu Dec 21 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Mary Jo Liew
    at Whitemud Crossing
  • Sun Dec 24 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Emily Fleming
    at Whitemud Crossing